The Daisy Award

What is the DAISY Award?

Daisy nurses 

DAISY is an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune System. The Daisy Foundation was formed in January 2000 by the family of J. Patrick Barnes who died at the age of 33 due to complications of Idiopathic Throbocytopenic Purpura. 

Pat was hospitalized for eight weeks and during this time the family was awed by not only the clinical skills but the incredible compassion they experienced from the nurses who cared for Pat and his family. In his honor the family formed the The Daisy Foundation and the DAISY Award.  The DAISY Award celebrates the compassionate care of extraordinary nurses and pays tribute to the special human consideration nurses give their patients every day as a very important part of the healing process.

  • The criteria for the DAISY Award aligns with Princeton Health Vision Mission and Values: 

  • Provides compassionate care through the healing of the mind, body and spirit

  • Effective and informative communication to patient, family and other health professionals

  • Outstanding teamwork exemplified by collaboration with others

  • Promotes patient centered care with a positive attitude

Princeton Health is offering the DAISY Award for our nurses. Patients, families, nurses, managers, physicians, staff and administrators can nominate someone who embodies the attributes listed above, keeping the main focus on the care of the patient and the family.

The Daisy Award nomination form can be filled out and put in one of the ballot boxes available throughout the hospital or emailed to

Congratulations to all the nominees and especially to James Waters, our first DAISY Award Winner!!


2020 Winners 

  • January - Maria Valades, BSN, RN, CEN, CPEN, HNC, Emergency Department
  • February - Bianca Csapo, BSN, RN, Mother Baby Unit
  • March - Marissa Harris, BSN, RN, PMHN-BC, Eating Disorder Unit
  • April - Lisa Sabo, BSN, RN, PMHN-BC, Eating Disorder Unit
  • May - Samuel Tootleman, RN, Telemetry Unit
  • June - Samantha Marquis, BSN, RN, CNOR, Ambulatory Surgery Center — Princeton
  • August - Caroline Rivera, BSN, RN, Float Pool
  • September - Me Ouk Choi, BSN, RN, Surgical Care Unit
  • October - Rebekah Backes, BSN, RN, Pediatrics Unit
  • November - Michelle Bradford, BSN, RN, CEN, CPEN, Emergency Department


2019 Winners 

  • January - Benjamin Diccion, Radiology
  • February - Carol Schwab, Float
  • March - Jennifer Demko, ICU
  • April - Joan Jazcko and Samantha Pisarick, Tele
  • May - Melanie Delin, MNO
  • June - Jessica  Baltadonis, OR
  • July - Annie Hoang, EDU
  • August - Sharon Tai, CDU

2018 Winners 

  • January - Marc Rogol, Clinical Decision Unit
  • February - Hope Brembt, Telemetry
  • March - Zyhra Bethell, Home Care
  • April - Fiona Farquharson, EDU
  • May - Dawn Gordon, Same Day Surgery
  • June - Grace Espinoza, ICU
  • July - Barbara Heruska, NICU
  • August - Dee Balasingham, Telemetry
  • September - Diana Paczkowski, OR
  • October - Rebecca Masih, Surgical floor
  • November - Cassandra Moonsamy, Surgical floor
  • December - Cora Beth Reyes, Infusion

2017 Winners 

  • January - Tiffany Gagliardo, MNO
  • February - Ann Marie Maldarelli, BMS Clinic
  • March - Annie Hoang, EDU
  • April - Barbara Pevahouse, Infusion Center
  • May - Allison Yiacas, Cardiac Cath Lab
  • June - Sandy Feldbauer, Mother Baby Unit
  • July - Mary Kiensicki, Breast Health Center
  • August - Teri Nachtman, BMS Clini