Grand Opening: Gala Event

Princeton HealthCare System Foundation Princeton HealthCare System Foundation

On April 28, Princeton HealthCare System (PHCS) Foundation welcomed its most generous Design for Healing campaign donors to a celebratory gala. Spirits were high as the 600+ attendees gathered in the David and Patricia Atkinson Pavilion for hors d’oeuvres and then explored the hospital on self-guided tours. Highlights of these tours included access to now-restricted clinical areas such as our surgical suites, robotic technology featuring the da Vinci Surgical System®, and the TrueBeam™ Linear Accelerator, in addition to other clinical and nonclinical areas.

Following the tours, guests gathered for a cocktail reception and program. Program speakers included Campaign Co-chairs JoAnn Heffernan Heisen and Bob Doll, PHCS Foundation Board of Directors Chairman Kim Pimley, PHCS Board of Trustees Chair Don Hofmann, PHCS President & CEO Barry Rabner, and UMCPP President Mark Jones. The program also featured a video with many familiar donors and PHCS staff who spoke about how the remarkable new building was designed for us all.

PHCS also hosted four grand-opening events—for employees, physicians, rescue personnel, and the community. Each event featured self-guided tours, a program, and a dedication. The events were a wonderful opportunity to introduce our guests to UMCPP and to celebrate the great success of our community’s effort to build a new hospital. To mark the occasion, an official ribbon-cutting ceremony took place at the community event, which was attended by over 9,000 area residents.

Premier Sponsors:

  • Bank of America–Merrill Lynch, The Pollard Team

  • Novo Nordisk

  • Turner Construction Company

Celebration Sponsors:

  • Hamilton Jewelers and the Siegel Family
  • Princeton Fitness & Wellness

Activity Sponsors: 

  • Duane Morris
  • 900 Scudders Mill Rd Lands

Community Partner Supporting the KidZone:

  • The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP)

Article as seen in Foundation News Fall 2012.